I read this book a few months ago and I would have to say that it still to this day continues to change me as a person. I have read several books by Eckhart Tolle and Dr. Wayne W. Dyer that could be considered similar in scope but Buddhism Plain and Simple takes a slightly different approach. The writer, Steve Hagen, delivers a very good amount of traditional Buddhism history without losing his audience. Without diving into the history of Buddhism I think most would feel a disconnect towards the end as some of the philosophies wrap around into perspective once he starts translating some of it’s teachings for us. His real world explanations are clear and well thought out but the overwhelming success of this book is it’s ability to tie Buddhism into the every day reality of it’s readers.

I would highly recommend this book to several audiences including those just starting out and looking to explore what Buddhism has to offer, those feeling a sense of disconnect with the world and are searching for meaning of life type answers, those searching for happiness and even those looking to make a spiritual change. I give Buddhism Plain and Simple five out of five stars!

